Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award


Join us in honoring the 2020
GLW Leadership Excellence Award Recipient: 
Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN

This year NCHL will host a virtual celebration on Thursday, November 19, 2020 from Noon-1PM ET to honor and celebrate the the 2020 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award.    


This year's celebration is complimentary for all Human Capital Investment Conference attendees. The celebration is also a free event for anyone who would like to join to honor Dr. Malone and her leadership excellence. Along with attendance to the conference, attendees will also receive a premium snack box with their registration.  During the ceremony, we will also honor and recognize healthcare workers for their hard work and resilience this past year.  

Premium Snack boxes are limited, and will be distributed on first come availability.

About Dr. Beverly Malone


Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN
CEO, National League for Nursing
Healthcare Leader | Accomplished Innovator | Nursing Champion

This year we are honoring Dr. Beverly Malone, Chief Executive Officer of the National League for Nursing (NLN). Dr. Malone is a visible national and global thought leader on issues facing the nursing profession, including diversity, the nurse educator shortage, and workforce development. 
Dr. Malone’s distinguished career has mixed policy, education, administration, and clinical practice, including as federal deputy assistant secretary for health under President Bill Clinton.
Dr. Malone has been ranked among the 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine, which also honored her on their biennial list of Top 25 Women in Healthcare and in 2020 named her to the inaugural list of five Minority Healthcare Luminaries.
Read more about Dr. Malone here.

The 2020 Virtual Celebration

About the Award

The Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award honors a healthcare leader whose commitment, values, and contributions embody the vision of NCHL to improve the health of the public through leadership and organizational excellence. The Leadership Award is given to an individual who has made significant leadership contributions to the health and healthcare field. Award winners come from many sectors, including healthcare delivery, community health, public health, insurance, suppliers, public policy, government, professional/trade associations, research, and academic institutions. 


2020 GLW Leadership Award Selection Committee


Peter W. Butler, Co-chair
Rush University

Jill Schwieters, Co-chair
JAS & Associates

Nancy Howell Agee
Carilion Clinic

Bob Clarke
Furst Group

Damon Boatwright
SSM Health – Wisconsin Regional

Joanne M. Conroy, MD
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health

Edgar J. Curtis
Memorial Health System

David Ertel
Vizient, Inc.

David Feinberg, MD
Google Health

Rod Hochman, MD
Providence and 2019 Gail L. Warden Leadership Excellence Award

Michelle Hood
American Hospital Association

Shoou-Yih (Daniel) Lee, PhD
University of Michigan

Jessica T. Melton
Sentara Norfolk General Hospital

Joseph Moscola
Northwell Health

Brian Peters
Michigan Health & Hospital Association

For additional information about the GLW Award, please contact Nitasha Kassam at

Press Releases